PCI 合规指南

支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI DSS) 设定了数据安全的最低标准,以下是保持合规的分步指南,以及 Stripe 可以提供的帮助。

Avatar Photo of Mike Dahn
Mike Dahn

Mike Dahn 在 Stripe 主管安全政策关系,他是一位 PCI 培训师、审计师和实施人员。

  1. 导言
  2. PCI 数据安全标准 (PCI DSS) 概述
    1. 处理卡数据
    2. 安全存储数据
    3. 年检
  3. PCI DSS 合规分步指南
    1. 1.了解您需符合的要求
    2. 2.映射反应您的数据流
    3. 3.检查安全控制措施和协议
    4. 4.监测与维护
  4. Stripe 如何帮助组织达成和维护 PCI 合规
  5. 结论
    1. PCI 合规对您有益,但仅做到这点还不够。

PCI DSS 版本 4.0 将于 2024 年 3 月 31 日生效

自 2005 年以来,累计有超过 110 亿条消费者记录在 8500 多次数据泄露中遭到泄露。这是来自隐私权信息交换所的最新数据,其中报告了自 2005 年以来对消费者造成重大影响的数据泄露和安全漏洞事件。

为了提高消费者数据的安全性和对支付系统的信任,相关组织设立了一个数据安全的最低标准。Visa、Mastercard、American Express、Discover 和 JCB 于 2006 年成立了支付卡行业安全标准委员会 (PCI SSC),负责管理信用卡数据处理公司的安全标准。在 PCI SSC 设立之前,这五家信用卡公司都有自己的安全标准程序,且都具有大致相似的要求和目标。他们通过 PCI SSC 联合起来,实施同一项标准政策,即 PCI 数据安全标准(简称 PCI DSS),在互联网时代为消费者和银行提供基线水平的保护。

对 PCI DSS 进行深入理解是一项颇为复杂且具有挑战性的工作

如果您的商业模式使得您必须要处理卡数据,那么您可能需要满足 PCI DSS 中全部 300 多项安全控制标准。PCI 委员会发布的关于 PCI DSS 的官方文件超过 1800 页,其中仅仅用来说明使用何种表单来验证合规的内容就有 300 多页。单纯是阅读这些内容就需要 72 个小时以上。

为了减轻您的负担,以下是我们提供的关于 PCI 合规验证和维护的分步指南。

PCI 数据安全标准 (PCI DSS) 概述

PCI DSS 是面向所有存储、处理或传输持卡人数据和/或敏感验证数据的实体的全球性安全标准。PCI DSS 为消费者设定了一个基准保护级别,能够帮助减少整个支付系统的欺诈和数据泄露问题。它适用于任何接受或处理支付卡的组织。

PCI DSS 合规性涉及三个主要组成部分:

1.处理客户信用卡数据的准入,即安全地收集和传输敏感信用卡信息
2.安全地存储数据,这在 PCI 标准的 12 个安全域中有所概述,例如加密、持续监控和对支付卡数据的访问进行安全测试
3.每年都要验证所需的安全控制措施是否到位,这可以包括表单、问卷、外部漏洞扫描服务及第三方审核(见下方的 分步 指南,表格中包含有四个级别的要求)

处理卡数据

某些商业模式确实需要在接受付款时直接处理敏感的信用卡数据,而有些则不然。需要处理卡数据的公司(例如在支付页面上接受未加密的 PAN)可能需要满足 PCI DSS 中全部 300 多项安全控制措施要求。即使卡数据仅在短时间内通过其服务器,相关公司也需要购买、实施和维护安全软件和硬件。

如果一家公司并不需要处理敏感信用卡数据,则应没有这种要求。第三方解决方案(例如,Stripe Elements)可以安全地接受和存储数据,从而在很大程度上消除或降低复杂性、成本和风险。由于卡数据不接触其服务器,公司只需要符合部分安全控制措施,其中大部分都是很简单直接的措施,例如使用较为安全的强密码。

安全存储数据

如果一家组织需要处理或存储信用卡数据,则需要定义其持卡人数据环境(缩写 CDE)的范围。PCI DSS 将 CDE 定义为存储、处理或传输信用卡数据的人员、流程和技术,或任何与其连接的系统。鉴于 PCI DSS 中的所有 300 多项安全要求都适用于 CDE,因此将支付环境与其他业务部门进行适当分割是非常重要的,这样可以限制 PCI 验证的范围。如果一家组织无法精细分割 CDE 范围,那么 PCI 安全控制措施就会适用于企业网络上的每个系统、笔记本电脑和设备,这可不太妙!

年检

无论以何种方式接受银行卡数据,相关组织都需要每年完成一份 PCI 检验表。验证 PCI 合规的方式取决于许多因素,具体如下。以下是相关组织可能会被要求证明其符合 PCI 标准的 3 种情境:

  • 支付服务商在向支付卡品牌提供必要报告时可能会有此要求。
  • 商业合作伙伴可能会有此要求,作为签订商业协议的先决条件。
  • 对于平台企业(其技术能够帮助各种不同的用户进行在线交易),客户可能会有此要求,以便向自己的客户证明他们是在以安全的方式处理数据。

PCI DSS 安全标准 中包括 12 个主要要求,其中 300 多个次级要求反映了领先的安全实践。

创建和维护安全的网络和系统

  • 1.安装和维护网络安全控制措施。
  • 2.对所有系统组件应用安全配置。

保护账户数据

  • 3.保护已存储的持卡人数据。
  • 4.在开放的公共网络传输过程中,使用强加密技术保护持卡人数据。

维护一项漏洞管理计划

  • 5.保护所有系统和网络,使其免受恶意软件的攻击。
  • 6.开发和维护安全系统和软件。

实施严格的访问控制措施

  • 7.根据业务需要限制对系统组件和持卡人数据的访问。
  • 8.识别用户并对系统组件的访问权限进行身份验证。
  • 9.限制对持卡人数据的物理访问。

定期检测和测试网络

  • 10.记录和监控对系统组件和持卡人数据的所有访问。
  • 11.定期测试系统和网络的安全性。

维护一项信息安全政策

  • 12.利用组织层面的政策和程序,支持信息安全。

为了使新企业相对容易地获得 PCI 合规验证,PCI 委员会创建了九种不同形式的自我评估问卷 (SAQ),这些内容包含在 PCI DSS 的整体要求中。其中的棘手之处在于要弄清楚哪些是适用的内容,或者是否有必要聘请经 PCI 委员会批准的审计师来验证是否已满足每项 PCI DSS 安全要求。此外,PCI 委员会每三年修订一次规则,并且全年都会发布新增更新,这更增加了不断变化的复杂性。

PCI DSS 合规分步指南

1.了解您需符合的要求

实现 PCI 合规的第一步是了解哪些要求适用于您的公司。PCI 有 4 个合规级别,通常基于您公司在 12 个月内处理的信用卡交易量。

合规等级
适用于
要求
1 级
  1. Visa 或 Mastercard 卡年交易量超过 600 万笔的企业,或 American Express 交易量超过 250 万笔的企业;或
  2. 出现过数据泄露事故;或
  3. 被任何卡组织(Visa、Mastercard 等)定为 1 级
  1. 由符合资质的安全评估员 (QSA) 提供年度合规报告 (ROC)——通常也称为 1 级现场评估或内部审计(如果由公司高管签署)
  2. 由经认可扫描供应商 (ASV) 每季度进行网络扫描
  3. 现场评估合规认证 (AOC) ——针对商家和服务提供者有专用的表格
2 级
年交易量在 100 万-600 万笔的企业
  1. 年度 PCI DSS 自我评估问卷调查 (SAQ)。下方表格中简要列出了 9 种 SAQ 类型
  2. 由经认可扫描供应商 (ASV) 每季度进行网络扫描 合规证明
  3. 合规证明 (AOC)——9 个 SAQ 各有一份相应的 AOC 表格
3 级
  1. 线上年交易量在 2 万-100 万笔的企业
  2. 年总交易量低于 100 万笔的企业
同上
4 级
  1. 线上年交易量低于 2 万笔的企业;或
  2. 年总交易量不超过 100 万笔的企业
同上

针对 2-4 级别,根据您的支付集成方式可选择不同的 SAQ 类别。此处是一个简略的表格:

SAQ
描述
A
Card-not-present merchants (ecommerce or mail/telephone order) that completely outsource all account data functions to PCI DSS–validated and compliant third parties. No electronic storage, processing, or transmission of account data on their systems or premises.

不适用于面对面的渠道。 Not applicable to service providers.
A-EP
Ecommerce merchants that partially outsource payment processing to PCI DSS–validated and compliant third parties, and with a website(s) that does not itself receive account data but which does affect the security of the payment transaction and/or the integrity of the page that accepts the customer’s account data. No electronic storage, processing, or transmission of account data on the merchant’s systems or premises.

仅适用于电商渠道。 Not applicable to service providers.
B
商家仅使用:
  • Imprint machines with no electronic account data storage, and/or
  • Standalone, dial-out terminals with no electronic account data storage
不适用于电商渠道。 Not applicable to service providers.
B-IP
仅使用 PTS 认可的独立支付终端的商家,其 IP 连接到支付处理器,不存储持卡人的电子数据。

不适用于电商渠道。
C-VT
Merchants that manually enter payment account data a single transaction at a time via a keyboard into a PCI DSS–validated and compliant third-party virtual payment terminal solution, with an isolated computing device and a securely connected web browser. No electronic account data storage.

不适用于电商渠道。 Not applicable to service providers.
C
Merchants with payment application systems connected to the internet, no electronic account data storage. Not applicable to ecommerce channels.

Not applicable to service providers.
P2PE
Merchants using only a validated, PCI-listed point-to-point encryption (P2PE) solution. No access to clear-text account data and no electronic account data storage.

不适用于电商渠道。 Not applicable to service providers.
SPoC*
Merchants using a commercial off-the-shelf mobile device (for example, a phone or tablet) with a secure card reader included on PCI SSC’s list of validated SPoC Solutions. No access to clear-text account data and no electronic account data storage.

Not applicable to unattended card-present, mail-order/telephone order (MOTO), or ecommerce channels. Not applicable to service providers.
D
针对商家的 SAQ D:所有未包含在上述 SAQ 类型描述中的商家。

针对服务提供者的 SAQ D:支付品牌定义的所有有资格完成 SAQ 的服务提供者。
*New SAQ for PCI DSS v4.0

2.映射反应您的数据流

要想保护敏感的信用卡数据,您需要首先知道它的位置以及它是通过何种路径到达的。您需要针对与贵组织的信用卡数据进行交互的系统、网络连接和应用程序,创建一个完整的映射图。根据您业务职能的不同,您可能需要与您的 IT 及安全团队成员合作,来完成该任务。

  • 首先,确定涉及支付交易的每一个面向消费者的业务领域。例如,您可能是通过网上购物车、店内支付终端或电话订单接受付款。
  • 接下来,明确整个公司处理持卡人数据的不同方式。要确切知道数据的存储位置以及谁拥有访问权限,这一点很重要。
  • 之后,确定接触支付交易的内部系统或底层技术。这包括您的网络系统、数据中心和云环境。

3.检查安全控制措施和协议

一旦确定了贵组织内信用卡数据的所有潜在接触点,即与 IT 和安全团队合作,确保部署了恰当的安全配置和协议(参见上文 PCI DSS 12 项安全要求列表)。这些协议旨在对数据传输提供保护,例如传输层安全 (TLS)。

PCI DSS 的 12 项安全要求源于保护任何企业敏感数据的领先实践方式。其中有些与 GDPR(欧盟通用数据保护条例)、HIPAA 和其他隐私权要求有所重叠,因此其中一些可能已经在贵组织实施。

4.监测与维护

值得注意的是,PCI 合规并不是一次性事件。这是一个持续的过程。随着数据流和客户接触点的不断发展,同时也要确保业务的合规性。有些信用卡品牌可能会要求您提交季度或年度报告,或完成年度现场评估以持续验证合规性(尤其是如果您每年的交易量超过 600 万笔)。

全年(以及每年)管理 PCI 合规通常需要跨部门的支持和协作。在内部组建一个专门的团队来妥善维护合规性是一个较为可行的方式(如果您尚未设立此类团队的话)。当然,每家公司都有自身的独特性,但是,“PCI 团队”的最初构成通常包括:

  • 安全:首席安全官 (CSO)、首席信息安全官 (CISO) 及其团队能够确保组织始终对必要的数据安全和隐私资源和政策进行适当投入。
  • 技术/支付:首席技术官 (CTO)、支付副总裁及其团队能够确保核心工具、集成和基础架构在组织系统发展过程中保持合规性。
  • 财务:首席财务官 (CFO) 及其团队能够确保在应对支付系统和合作伙伴事务时,考虑到所有的支付数据流。
  • 法律:该团队可以帮助解决 PCI DSS 合规要求在法律方面的诸多细微差别。

如需详细了解复杂的 PCI 合规问题,请访问 PCI 安全标准委员会网站。如果您只阅读过本指南和一些其他 PCI 文档,我们建议先从这些内容开始了解:首选方法SAQ 说明及指南,使用 SAQ 资格标准确定 现场评估要求 的常见问题,以及为接受支付卡数据的消费者设备 开发应用程序的商家义务 的常见问题。

Stripe 如何帮助组织达成和维护 PCI 合规

对于集成使用 CheckoutElements移动 SDKTerminal SDK 的公司来说,Stripe 能够显著减轻 PCI 带来的负担。Stripe Checkout 和 Stripe Elements 使用托管的支付字段来处理所有支付卡信息。这样一来,持卡人在支付字段输入的所有敏感支付信息都直接来自于我们经 PCI DSS 认证的服务器。Stripe 移动 SDK 和 Terminal SDK 还能让持卡人将敏感的支付信息直接发送到我们经 PCI DSS 认证的服务器。

对于我们的所有用户(无论集成类型如何),Stripe 扮演着 PCI 推动者的角色,可以通过几个不同的方式提供帮助。

  • 分析您的集成方式,针对如何减轻合规负担提供建议。
  • 如果交易量增加使您需要更改您的合规验证方式,我们会提前通知您。
  • 针对大型商家(1 级),如果您需要与一家 PCI QSA 合作(因为您存储信用卡数据或者拥有更为复杂的支付流程),全球有超过 350 家这类 QSA 公司 可供选择,我们可以帮助您联系一些对 Stripe 各种集成方式颇有了解的审计人员。

结论

对 PCI 合规的评估和验证通常每年进行一次,但 PCI 合规并非一次性事件——它是持续进行的评估和补救工作。公司的发展会带来核心业务逻辑和流程的增长,这意味着合规性也要跟上。例如,线上企业可能决定开设实体店、进入新市场或设立客户支持中心。如果有任何新内容涉及支付卡数据,最好主动检查这是否会对您的 PCI 验证方式产生任何影响,并在必要时重新验证 PCI 合规性。

PCI 合规对您有益,但仅做到这点还不够。

遵守 PCI DSS 是您公司的一项必要保护措施,但仅做到这点还不够。PCI DSS 为处理和存储持卡人的数据设定了重要标准,但其本身并不能为每个支付环境都提供足够的保护。相反,为了保护贵组织,寻求更安全的接受银行卡支付的方式(如 Stripe Checkout、Elements 和移动 SDK)则是一种更有效的方法。这种方法让敏捷公司得以缓解潜在数据泄露的风险,并避免了传统 PCI 验证方式所耗费的精力、时间和成本。更重要的是,更安全的集成方法能够提供全天候的可靠保护。

准备好开始了?联系我们或创建账户。

马上创建账户,就能开始收款——不需要签合同,也不需要填写银行信息。您也可以联系我们,为您的业务量身定制最合适的套餐。

A guide to PCI compliance

Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI DSS) sets the minimum standard for data security — here’s a step by step guide to maintaining compliance and how Stripe can help.

Introduction

Since 2005, over 11 billion consumer records have been compromised from over 8,500 data breaches. These are the latest numbers from The Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, which reports on data breaches and security breaches impacting consumers dating back to 2005.

To improve the safety of consumer data and trust in the payment ecosystem, a minimum standard for data security was created. Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and JCB formed the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) in 2006 to administer and manage security standards for companies that handle credit card data. Before the PCI SSC was established, these five credit card companies all had their own security standards programs—each with roughly similar requirements and goals. They banded together through the PCI SSC to align on one standard policy, the PCI Data Security Standards (known as PCI DSS) to ensure a baseline level of protection for consumers and banks in the Internet era.

Understanding PCI DSS can be complex and challenging

If your business model requires you to handle card data, you may be required to meet each of the 300+ security controls in PCI DSS. There are over 1,800 pages of official documentation, published by the PCI Council, about PCI DSS, and over 300 pages just to understand which form(s) to use when validating compliance. This would take over 72 hours just to read.

To ease this burden, the following is a step by step guide to validating and maintaining PCI compliance.

Overview of PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS)

PCI DSS is the global security standard for all entities that store, process, or transmit cardholder data and/or sensitive authentication data. PCI DSS sets a baseline level of protection for consumers and helps reduce fraud and data breaches across the entire payment ecosystem. It is applicable to any organization that accepts or processes payment cards.

PCI DSS compliance involves 3 main things:

  1. Handling the ingress of credit card data from customers, namely, that sensitive card details are collected and transmitted securely
  2. Storing data securely, which is outlined in the 12 security domains of the PCI standard, such as encryption, ongoing monitoring, and security testing of access to card data
  3. Validating annually that the required security controls are in place, which can include forms, questionnaires, external vulnerability scanning services and 3rd party audits (see the step by step guide below for a table with the four levels of requirements)

Handling card data

Some business models do require the direct handling of sensitive credit card data when accepting payments, while others do not. Companies that do need to handle card data (e.g., accepting untokenized PANs on a payment page) may be required to meet each of the 300+ security controls in PCI DSS. Even if card data only traverses its servers for a short moment, the company would need to purchase, implement, and maintain security software and hardware.

If a company does not need to handle sensitive credit card data, it shouldn’t. Third party solutions (e.g., Stripe Elements) securely accept and store the data, whisking away considerable complexity, cost and risk. Since card data never touches its servers, the company would only need to confirm 22 security controls, most of which are straightforward, such as using strong passwords.

Storing data securely

If an organization handles or stores credit card data, it needs to define the scope of its cardholder data environment (CDE). PCI DSS defines CDE as the people, processes and technologies that store, process, or transmit credit card data—or any system connected to it. Since all 300+ security requirements in PCI DSS apply to CDE, it’s important to properly segment the payment environment from the rest of the business so as to limit the scope of PCI validation. If an organization is unable to contain the CDE scope with granular segmentation, the PCI security controls would then apply to every system, laptop, and device on its corporate network. Yikes!

Annual validation

Regardless of how card data is accepted, organizations are required to complete a PCI validation form annually. The way PCI compliance is validated depends on a number of factors, which are outlined below. Here are 3 scenarios in which an organization could be asked to show that it is PCI compliant:

  • Payment processors may request it as part of their required reporting to the payment card brands
  • Business partners may request it as a prerequisite to entering into business agreements
  • For platform businesses (those whose technology facilitates online transactions among multiple distinct sets of users), customers may request it to show their customers that they are handling data securely

The latest set of security standards, PCI DSS version 3.2.1, includes 12 main requirements with over 300 sub-requirements that mirror security best practices.

    Build and maintain a secure network and systems

  1. Install and maintain a firewall configuration to protect cardholder data
  2. Do not use vendor-supplied defaults for system passwords and other security parameters
  3. Protect cardholder data

  4. Protect stored cardholder data
  5. Encrypt transmission of cardholder data across open or public networks
  6. Maintain a vulnerability management program

  7. Protect all systems against malware and regularly update anti-virus software
  8. Develop and maintain secure systems and applications
  9. Implement strong access control measures

  10. Restrict access to cardholder data by business need to know
  11. Identify and authenticate access to system components
  12. Restrict physical access to cardholder data
  13. Regularly monitor and test networks

  14. Track and monitor all access to network resources and cardholder data
  15. Regularly test security systems and processes
  16. Maintain an information security policy

  17. Maintain a policy that addresses information security for all personnel

To make it “easier” for new businesses to validate PCI compliance, the PCI Council created nine different forms or Self-Assessment Questionnaires (SAQs) that are a subset of the entire PCI DSS requirement. The trick is figuring out which is applicable or whether it’s necessary to hire a PCI Council-approved auditor to verify that each PCI DSS security requirement has been met. In addition, the PCI Council revises the rules every three years and releases incremental updates throughout the year, adding even more dynamic complexity.

Step by step guide to PCI DSS v3.2.1 compliance

1. Know your requirements

The first step in achieving PCI compliance is knowing which requirements apply to your organization. There are four different PCI compliance levels, typically based on the volume of credit card transactions your business processes during a 12-month period.

Applies to Requirements
Level 1
  1. Organizations that process more than 6 million transactions annually; or
  2. Have experienced a data breach; or
  3. Are deemed “Level 1” by any card association (Visa, Mastercard, etc)
  1. Annual Report on Compliance (ROC) by a Qualified Security Assessor (QSA)—also commonly known as a Level 1 onsite assessment—or internal auditor if signed by an officer of the company
  2. Quarterly network scan by Approved Scan Vendor (ASV)
  3. Attestation of Compliance (AOC) for Onsite Assessments–there are specific forms for merchants and service providers
Level 2 Organizations that process between 1-6 million transactions annually
  1. Annual PCI DSS Self-Assessment Questionnaire (SAQ)—there are 9 SAQ types shown briefly in the table below
  2. Quarterly network scan by Approved Scan Vendor (ASV)
  3. Attestation of Compliance (AOC)—each of the 9 SAQs has a respective AOC form
Level 3
  1. Organizations that process between 20,000-1 million online transactions annually
  2. Organizations that process less than 1 million total transactions annually
Level 4
  1. Organizations that process fewer than 20,000 online transactions annually; or
  2. Organizations that process up to 1 million total transactions annually

For Level 2-4, there are different SAQ types depending on your payment integration method. Here’s a brief table:

SAQ Description
A

Card-not-present merchants (e-commerce or mail/telephone-order), that have fully outsourced all cardholder data functions to PCI DSS compliant third-party service providers, with no electronic storage, processing, or transmission of any cardholder data on the merchant’s systems or premises.

Not applicable to face-to-face channels.

A-EP

E-commerce merchants who outsource all payment processing to PCI DSS validated third parties, and who have a website(s) that doesn’t directly receive cardholder data but that can impact the security of the payment transaction. No electronic storage, processing, or transmission of cardholder data on merchant’s systems or premises.

Applicable only to e-commerce channels.

B

Merchants using only:

  • Imprint machines with no electronic cardholder data storage, and/or
  • Standalone, dial-out terminals with no electronic cardholder data storage.

Not applicable to e-commerce channels.

B-IP

Merchants using only standalone, PTS-approved payment terminals with an IP connection to the payment processor with no electronic cardholder data storage.

Not applicable to e-commerce channels.

C-VT

Merchants who manually enter a single transaction at a time via a keyboard into an Internet-based, virtual payment terminal solution that is provided and hosted by a PCI DSS validated third-party service provider. No electronic cardholder data storage.

Not applicable to e-commerce channels.

C

Merchants with payment application systems connected to the Internet, no electronic cardholder data storage.

Not applicable to e-commerce channels.

P2PE

Merchants using only hardware payment terminals included in and managed via a validated, PCI SSC-listed Point-to-Point Encryption (P2PE) solution, with no electronic cardholder data storage.

Not applicable to e-commerce merchants.

D

SAQ D for Merchants: All merchants not included in descriptions for the above SAQ types.

SAQ D for Service Providers: All service providers defined by a payment brand as eligible to complete an SAQ.

To select the SAQ and Attestation documents that best apply to your organization, the flowchart on page 18 of this PCI doc can help.

The PCI DSS requirements change over time, so one of the best ways to get updates on new or changing certification requirements and how to meet them is to become a PCI Participating Organization (PO).

2. Map your data flows

Before you can protect sensitive credit card data, you need to know where it lives and how it gets there. You’ll want to create a comprehensive map of the systems, network connections, and applications that interact with credit card data across your organization. Depending on your role, you’ll probably need to work with your IT and security team(s) to do this.

  • First, identify every consumer-facing area of the business that involves payment transactions. For example, you may accept payments via an online shopping cart, in-store payment terminals, or orders placed over the phone.
  • Next, pinpoint the various ways cardholder data is handled throughout the business. It’s important to know exactly where the data is stored and who has access to it.
  • Then, identify the internal systems or underlying technologies that touch payment transactions. This includes your network systems, data centers, and cloud environments.

3. Check security controls and protocols

Once you map out all the potential touchpoints for credit card data across your organization, work with IT and security teams to ensure the right security configurations and protocols are in place (see the list of 12 security requirements for PCI DSS above). These protocols are designed to secure the transmission of data, like Transport Layer Security (TLS).

The 12 security requirements for PCI DSS v3.2.1 stem from best practices for protecting sensitive data for any business. Several overlap with those required to meet GDPR, HIPAA, and other privacy mandates, so a few of them may already be in place in your organization.

4. Monitor and maintain

It’s important to note that PCI compliance is not a one-time event. It’s an ongoing process to ensure your business remains compliant even as data flows and customer touchpoints evolve. Some credit card brands may require you to submit quarterly or annual reports, or complete an annual on-site assessment to validate ongoing compliance, particularly if you process over 6 million transactions each year.

Managing PCI compliance throughout the year (and year over year) often requires cross-departmental support and collaboration. If this doesn’t already exist, it may be worthwhile to create a dedicated team internally to properly maintain compliance. While every company is unique, a good starting point for a “PCI team” would include representation from the following:

  • Security: The Chief Security Officer (CSO), Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), and their teams ensure the organization is always properly investing in the necessary data security and privacy resources and policies.
  • Technology / Payments: The Chief Technology Officer (CTO), VP of Payments, and their teams make sure that core tools, integrations, and infrastructure remain compliant as the organization’s systems evolve.
  • Finance: The Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and their team ensures that all payment data flows are accounted for when it comes to payment systems and partners.
  • Legal: This team can help navigate the many legal nuances of PCI DSS compliance.

For more information about the complex world of PCI compliance, head to the PCI Security Standards Council website. If you only read this guide and a few other PCI docs, we recommend starting with these: prioritized approach for PCI DSS, SAQ instructions and guidelines, FAQ about using SAQ eligibility criteria to determine onsite assessment requirements, and FAQ about obligations for merchants that develop apps for consumer devices that accept payment card data.

How Stripe helps organizations achieve and maintain PCI compliance

Stripe significantly simplifies the PCI burden for companies that integrate with Checkout, Elements and mobile SDKs. Stripe Checkout and Stripe Elements use a hosted payment field for handling all payment card data, so the cardholder enters all sensitive payment information in a payment field that originates directly from our PCI DSS validated servers. Stripe mobile SDKs also enable the cardholder to send sensitive payment information directly to our PCI DSS validated servers.

With safer card acceptance methods like these, we’ll populate the PCI form (SAQ) in the Stripe Dashboard, making PCI validation as easy as clicking a button. For smaller organizations this can save hundreds of hours of work, for larger ones this can save thousands.

For all our users, regardless of integration type, Stripe acts as a PCI advocate and can help in a few different ways.

  • We’ll analyze your integration method and advise you on which PCI form to use and how to reduce your compliance burden.
  • We’ll notify you ahead of time if a growing transaction volume will require a change in how you validate compliance.
  • For large merchants (Level 1), we provide a PCI-packet that can reduce PCI validation time from months to days. If you need to work with a PCI QSA (because you store credit card data or have a more complex payment flow), there are over 350 such QSA companies around the world, and we can connect you with several auditors that deeply understand the different Stripe integration methods.
Visa’s Merchant Level Average audit time (annual estimates) Average audit time with Stripe Elements, Checkout or Mobile SDK (annual estimates)
Level 1 3-5 months 2-5 days
Level 2 1-3 months 0 days
Level 3 1-3 months 0 days
Level 4 1-3 months 0 days

For more information about how Stripe helps you protect your customers’ data and achieve PCI compliance, check out our docs about integration security.

Conclusion

Assessing and validating PCI compliance usually happens once a year, but PCI compliance is not a one-time event — it’s a continuous and substantial effort of assessment and remediation. As a company grows so will the core business logic and processes, which means compliance requirements will evolve as well. An online business, for example, may decide to open physical stores, enter new markets, or launch a customer support center. If anything new involves payment card data, it’s a good idea to proactively check whether this has any impact on your PCI validation method, and re-validate PCI compliance as necessary.

PCI compliance helps. It’s just not enough.

Adherence to the PCI DSS guidelines is a necessary layer of protection for your business — but it’s not enough. PCI DSS sets important standards for handling and storing cardholder data, but by itself does not provide sufficient protection for every payment environment. Instead, moving to a safer card acceptance method (like Stripe Checkout, Elements and mobile SDKs) is a much more effective way to protect your organization. The long-standing benefit this provides is that you don’t need to rely on industry baseline standards or worry about the potential failure of security controls. This approach provides agile businesses a way to mitigate a potential data breach and avoid the emotional, time consuming, and costly historical approach to PCI validation. Not to mention, a safer integration method is reliable every single day of the year.

Back to guides