You can invite other members of your team to access a Stripe account. To protect your sensitive information or restrict the actions they can perform, user roles limit their access. Each team member must be assigned a role when they are added.
Team members and user roles are managed in your account’s team member settings page. You can add team members individually, or invite multiple users at the same time by separating their email addresses with a comma or space.
Inviting a team member to access your Stripe account.
Selecting a user role
There are five user roles that you can choose from when adding a team member to your account, each with increasing restrictions on the actions they can take:
|Administrator||The user has the same level of access as the account owner and can view API keys, change account settings, invite new users, etc. Administrators cannot delete or make changes to the account owner. Only owners and administrators can connect the Stripe account to Connect platforms.|
|Developer||The user cannot manage team members on your Stripe account, update bank account information, or edit payout settings.|
|Analyst||The user cannot access any account settings or view API keys. They also cannot make changes to Stripe Radar settings.|
|Support Specialist||The user cannot access any account settings or view API keys. They also cannot view summarized financial reports, aggregate payment information, inspect payouts from Stripe to your bank account, or view and make changes to Stripe Radar settings.|
|View Only||The user has read-only access to all payment information in your account but cannot access any account settings or view API keys. They cannot edit details of a connected account. They also cannot view summarized financial reports, aggregate payment information, or inspect payouts from Stripe to your bank account, or view and make changes to Stripe Radar settings.|
If an invited user doesn’t have a Stripe account, they receive an invitation to join your account via email. A user with an existing account is prompted to log in, and can then switch between accounts.
Mentioning team members in notes
You can mention team members when adding a note to a payment. Any team member that is mentioned receives an email notification with the note and a link to the payment it was added to.
Receiving email notifications
Each team member can receive an email notification when any of the following occur:
- A successful payment is received
- An application fee is collected from a connected account
- A payment is disputed by a customer
- A payment is marked as elevated risk by Stripe or a custom Stripe Radar rule
- You are mentioned in a note
- A customer sends an incorrect amount to pay their invoice
- A webhook delivery fails
Email notifications are configured in your user profile, and apply on a per-user basis. Other team members must customize their settings if they also wish to receive notifications.
Was this page helpful?